Monica Buckland is the new Musical Director of the Balmain Sinfonia, a symphony orchestra in Sydney, Australia.  Their first concert together – without audience, due to Covid-19 restrictions – took place on 26 September 2020.

In October 2019 Monica Buckland was a
for the Northeast of England.

«Women of the Year» has recognised, celebrated and inspired women of all backgrounds for over 60 years and continues to shine a light on extraordinary women through an annual lunch, lecture and on-going foundation work.

Women of the year

The Women of the Year Lunch & Awards 2019 was held at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London on Monday October 14th.
ITV reported on it.

Also in October 2019, Monica Buckland was appointed to the Board of Directors of the INTERNATIONAL ALLIANCE FOR WOMEN IN MUSIC for the 2020–2022 period.   

The IAWM is an organisation dedicated to fostering and encouraging the activities of women in music – performers, composers, educators etc. – all around the world.


Monica Buckland is a freelance conductor, teacher and coach.

Since 1 May 2019 she has been Adjunct Lecturer at the University of New South Wales, Sydney.

New: As of February 2020, she is the new Musical Director of the Balmain Sinfonia in Sydney.

From 2016 to 2019 she was Musical Director of the New Tyneside Orchestra, UK.

She continues to teach at Durham University and the Palucca Hochschule, Dresden.

In November 2015, Monica Buckland was elected an «Associate of Newnham College, Cambridge».

2008–2014 she was Artistic Director of the Universitätsorchester Dresden (Germany). She also lectured at the TU Dresden and the Palucca University of Dance, where she has been part of the MA Choreography team since 2017.

2004–2006 she was Director of the Conservatoire Supérieur et Académie de Musique Tibor Varga in Sion (Switzerland).

Monica Buckland mit Orchester

“It’s really fantastic how you have worked on this piece with the orchestra!”

Concertmaster of the Dresden Philharmonic of the performance of Berg’s violin concerto on 5 February 2012

“Thank you for the wonderful course! It was one of the best (if not the best) course(s) I've ever had because of all the different references and the precise and focus guiding comments of yours. In addition to that it was fun and collaborative.”

Master student at the Palucca College of Dance

A film of Monica Buckland rehearsing was the central part of an exhibition in Leipzig, and was part of the film festival «Identities 2015» in Vienna:

Marion Porten
Filmfestival «Identities 2015» in Vienna on Friday 12 June 2015, 18:00


Concerts, events and press review
(Click on flyers for details)


New Tyneside Orchestra  
Live concert
W.A. Mozart - Symphony Nr. 38
20th March 2021
Congress Hall, Sydney
Balmain Sinfonia
Monica Buckland - Conductor
«Trusting the music within you» - Monica Buckland at TEDxNewnham
Music is within everyone, and we show it in everything we do. Monica Buckland shows that your physical presence can be translated into music, regardless of how «musical» you think you are.
Live concert
Clara Schumann – Piano concerto op. 7
9th March 2018
Çukurova Devlet Senfoni Orkestrası
Adana, Turkey
Hande Dalkilic - piano
Monica Buckland - Conductor

Live concert
Camille Saint-Saëns - cello concerto nr. 1
29th January 2012 at the Lukaskirche Dresden
Kammerphilharmonie der Technischen Universität Dresden
Friedrich Thiele - Cello
Monica Buckland - Conductor

  Upcoming Projects
  Date and place

Performers Programme  

22–24 March 2022
Riverside Theatre, Parramatta

Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Concerts for schools

James Ledger – Indian Pacific
Aram I. Khatchaturian  – Waltz from Masquerade
Elena Kats-Chernin – Dance of the Paper Umbrellas
Paul Stanhope – Helter Skelter
  … plus extracts from: Jacques Offenbach – Orpheus in the Underworld
P.I. Tchaikovsky – Nutcracker, Suite Op. 71a
Georges Bizet – Carmen, Suite 2


28 May 2022, 17:00,
Congress Hall, Sydney

Balmain Sinfonia

Antonín Dvořák – The Water Goblin, Op. 107
Josef Suk – Pohádka, Op. 16
Antonín Dvořák – Symphony  no. 8, Op. 88


6 August 2022, 17:00,
Congress Hall, Sydney

Balmain Sinfonia

W.A. Mozart – Overture, Così fan tutte
W.A. Mozart – Concerto for flute and harp, K. 299 (soloists Janet Webb and Kate Moloney)
Robert Schumann – Symphony  no. 2, Op. 61


15 October 2022, 17:00,
Congress Hall, Sydney

Balmain Sinfonia

Guiseppe Verdi – Overture, La Forza del Destino
Emilie Mayer – Overture, Faust
Charles Gounod – Ballet music from FaustS.S. Prokofiev – Romeo and Juliet, Suite from Op. 64b and c


3 December 2022, 17:00Congress Hall, Sydney

Balmain Sinfonia

Alexander P. Borodin – Overture and Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor
Aram I. Khatchaturian – Adagio from Spartakus
Camille Saint-Saëns – Bacchanale from Samson and Delilah
Léo Delibes – Sylvia, Suite
P.I. Tchaikovsky – Nutcracker, Suite Op. 71a